Committee Structure

NACD’s Foundation Committees direct association activity in priority areas and are comprised of approximately ten NACD board members, with each state and territory serving on one committee. Committee chairs and members serve two-year terms in conjunction with the current NACD president. The chairs and staff advisors for the five Foundation Committees are as follows:

District Operations and Member Services Committee

The District Operations and Member Services Committee works to improve the connectivity between the local districts, state associations and national organization by providing resources that assist in the daily operations of a conservation district. The committee also works closely with partnering agencies to build upon the existing services NACD provides to individual, district and state association members.

Communications Committee

The Communications Committee is responsible for providing guidance, input, direction and assistance to accomplish NACD goals. Members of the committee work with NACD staff to strengthen both internal and external communications.

Legislative Committee

The Legislative Committee is responsible for guiding and coordinating the development and implementation of legislative strategies in support of Board of Directors approved policy and program objectives.

Stewardship and Education Committee

The Stewardship and Education Committee is responsible to assist in the promotion of conservation education through the Stewardship Week program materials and other education outreach materials. Members participate in the process and review of materials.

  • Chair: Kim LaFleur
  • Vice Chair: Calvert Steuart
  • Staff Advisor: Melisa Augusto

Natural Resources Policy Committee

The Natural Resource Policy Committee is responsible for coordinating activities and formulating policy recommendations in all areas, which include but are not limited to agricultural lands, water resources, forestry, urban, wildlife habitat, and grazing lands.

  • Chair: Tim Palmer
  • Vice Chair: Gary Moyer
  • Staff Advisor: Chris Heck

Resource Policy Groups

Each committee may establish subcommittees and task forces to assist with special projects or issues. The Natural Resources Policy Committee may also set up Resource Policy Groups (RPGs) to tackle special interest issues. The membership of subcommittees, task forces, and RPGs are determined by the appropriate committee chair.

Existing RPGs under the Natural Resources Policy Committee include:

  • Urban and Community
  • Forestry
  • Tribal
  • Public Lands

Latest News

Calendar of Events

Find your Local District