NACD Announces 2020 Photo, Poster Contest Winners

CONTACT: Sara Kangas, NACD Director of Communications
(202) 547-6223; sara-kangas[at]


February 9, 2021


WASHINGTON – Today, the National Association of Conservation Districts (NACD), in partnership with the NACD Auxiliary, announced the winners of the 2020 Photo Contest and 2020 Poster Contest during the virtual 75th NACD Annual Meeting.

The photo contest, open to amateur photographers in both youth and adult divisions, consists of images reflecting the themes of “Agriculture and Conservation Across America,” “Close-Up Conservation,” “Conservation in Action” and “Conservation Practices.”

“This year’s contest winners creatively captured the beauty and importance of conservation and those working to help protect our natural resources,” NACD Auxiliary President Karen Smart said.

The 2020 Photo Contest winners are:

Adult Division Youth Division
Agriculture and Conservation Across America Tracy Rine, Northern Panhandle CD, W.V.; Sandra Cooper, Coles County SWCD, Ill. Madison Simon, Fillmore SWCD, Minn.; Jeremy O’Connor, Minnesota
Close-Up Conservation Bob Diller, Henricopolis SWCD, Va.; Holly Killian, Shelby County CD, Ala. Jake Turner, Sarasota SWCD, Fla.; Karalee Christensen, Root River SWCD, Minn.
Conservation in Action Jia You, New Castle CD, Del.; Anna Golightly, Madison County SWCD, Iowa Kathryn Brooks, New Castle CD, Del.; Karalee Christensen, Root River SWCD, Minn.
Conservation Practices Timothy Barnes, Butte SWCD, Idaho; Nicky Lock, Taylor County SWCD, Iowa Nancy Murray, Satilla SWCD, Ga.; Corey Melvin, Lake County SWCD, Ind.

The 2020 Poster Contest, open to current students from kindergarten through 12th grade, celebrated the 2020 NACD Stewardship theme, “Where Would We BEE Without Pollinators?”

“Pollinators form the foundation of our ecosystems,” Smart said. “Promoting their importance and encouraging pollinator conservation practices ensures a healthy future for us all.”

The 2020 Poster Contest winners are:

1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place
K-1 Colt Folger, Stanton County CD, Kan. Payton Duncan, Greene County CD, Pa. Lydia Feucht, Dodge County CD, Wis.
2-3 Viraj Nimkar, Loudoun SWCD, Va. Abbie Holley, Conecuh SWCD, Ala. Grace Sun, Hudson SCD, N.J.
4-6 Clarinda Weber, Madison County SWCD, Ind. Kacey Brune, Osage County CD, Mo. Janna Winningham, Geauga SWCD, Ohio
7-9 Emerson Ortmeier, Lower Elkhorn NRD, Neb. Bryan Jimenez, Esmerelda CD, Nev. Angel Keplinger, Potomac Valley CD, W.V.
10-12 Lillian McConkey, Peter Francisco SWCD, Va. Rachel Ou, Freehold SCD, N.J. Eason Li, New Castle CD, Del.

The winners listed will receive cash prizes courtesy of the NACD Auxiliary, made possible by the Auxiliary’s quilt project proceeds, the Auxiliary Country Store at the NACD Annual Meeting, and the generosity of individual donors. All contest participants will receive a certificate of participation. View the winning photos and the winning posters on NACD’s Flickr page.


About the National Association of Conservation Districts:

The National Association of Conservation Districts is the nonprofit organization that represents the nation’s 3,000 conservation districts, their state and territory associations and the 17,000 men and women who serve on their governing boards. For more than 70 years, local conservation districts have worked with cooperating landowners and managers of private working lands to help them plan and apply effective conservation practices. For more information about NACD, visit:

Latest News

Calendar of Events

Find your Local District

Accessibility Toolbar